The introduction of the EU standard scenarios is postponed

According to Article 23(4) of the Implementing Regulation (EU) 2019/947, as of December 2, 2021, Member States may only accept declarations of operation from UAS operators that correspond to one of the two published standard scenarios in the Annex to the Implementing Regulation.

An essential prerequisite for the use of these standard scenarios are certified C5 and C6 class drones. However, the corresponding technical requirements standards for the class are currently still in the works and will not be available in time for the December 2, 2021 deadline.

For this reason, EASA has redefined the date of application for Article 5(5) which is now 3 . December 2023.

Notwithstanding this postponement, until 2 December 2023, Member States may accept declarations from UAS operators referred to in Article 5(5) that are based on national standard scenarios or equivalent scenarios if these national scenarios meet the requirements of point UAS.SPEC.020 of the Annex.

This provides at least an interim solution for UAS operators seeking to operate in the specific category without an operating license. 

Image source for the blog post image: EASA [https://www.easa.europa.eu/]

Die Einführung der EU Standardszenarien verschiebt sich

Gemäß Artikel 23 Absatz 4 der Durchführungsverordnung (EU) 2019/947 dürfen die Mitgliedstaaten ab dem 2. Dezember 2021 nur noch Betriebserklärungen von UAS-Betreibern akzeptieren, welche einem der beiden publizierten Standardszenarien im Anhang der Durchführungsverordnung entspricht.

Eine Wesentliche Vorrausetzung für die Nutzung dieser Standardszenarien sind zertifizierte Drohnen der Klasse C5 und C6. Die entsprechenden technischen Anforderungsnormen an die Klasse befinden sich allerdings derzeit noch in der Arbeit und werden nicht rechtzeitig bis zum 2. Dezember 2021 verfügbar sein.

Aus diesem Grund hat die EASA den Anwendungszeitpunkt für Artikel 5 Absatz 5 neu definiert und dafür den 3 . Dezember 2023 bekannt gegeben.

Unabhängig von dieser Verschiebung können die Mitgliedstaaten bis zum 2. Dezember 2023 Erklärungen von UAS-Betreibern gemäß Artikel 5 Absatz 5 akzeptieren, die auf nationalen Standardszenarien oder gleichwertigen Szenarien beruhen, wenn diese nationalen Szenarien die Anforderungen von Punkt UAS.SPEC.020 des Anhangs erfüllen.

Damit bietet sich zumindet eine Übergangslösung für UAS Betreiber, die einen Betrieb in der speziellen Kategorie ohne Betriebsgenehmigung anstreben. 

Bildquelle für das Beitragsbild: EASA [https://www.easa.europa.eu/]